Irondale Sends Three Teams to World Series

Irondale, Al – The City of Irondale participates in the Dizzy Dean Little League baseball program. Each year, hundreds of teams throughout the state vie for a trip to the World Series. This year, the City of Irondale had three teams qualify. Depending on the age level, a team can only make the World Series by finishing in 1st, 2nd, or 3rd place in the Alabama State tournament.

Irondale’s 12 year old team had to compete in 3 qualifying tournaments to punch a ticket for the World Series. First up was the District tournament featuring 8 teams within a 45-mile radius of Irondale. Next was the Area Tournament comprised of 8 teams stretching from Springville to Montgomery.  Lastly, there was the State Tournament played in Albertville. The state tournament brings together the best 16 teams throughout the entire state. Irondale 12 year old finished 2nd in the State Tournament, earning them a trip to Southaven, MS for the Dizzy Dean World Series of Baseball.

Irondale’s 13 year old team finished 2nd in their State Tournament which was played in Montgomery.

The 15 year old State Tournament was played in Montevallo where Irondale walked away with the 1st place trophy.

All three teams represented Irondale well in the World Series. The 13 year old team was also awarded best sportsmanship. This was an incredibly wonderful season for the kids and the City of Irondale. We are very proud of their tremendous accomplishments.

By Darryl Washington

Way to go, Irondale!

Irondale 12yr Old Baseball Team

12 Year Old Players and Coaches

#22 Khalil Bell
#8 Kendall Garner
#4 A’kynan January
#11 Devin Kelly
#1 Andrew Olds
#6 DeAndre’ Olds
#2 Justin Sharp
#19 Jonathan Smith
#32 JC Spencer
#42 Julian Whittaker
#5 AJ Williams
#24 Reggie Williams


Chris Salter, Head Coach
Coach Reginald Williams
Coach Steven Spencer
Coach Royce Sharp

Irondale 13-yr old basebal team
Irondale 13-yr old basebal team

13 Year Old Players and Coaches

La Marcus Echols
Malcolm Evans
Derrick Felton Jr.
Anthony Gates Jr.
Josh Mahan
Gary Newby
John Parson
Jordan Parson
Brandon Sanders
Trent Thomas
Byron Wesley Jr.
Jaylen White


Derrick Felton Sr.
Chris Mahan
Byron Wesley Sr.
Edward Sanders